Dean Barber

My Pet Peeves

In Corporate Site Selection and Economic Development on August 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

I’ve been in Costa Rica this past week on business believe it or not. So here’s a reblog of a past post that you may find of interest.

Barberbiz

I always welcome the opportunity to meet with economic developers when they come to the Dallas-Fort Worth area to call on site selection consultants. If my schedule permits, I’m with you.

Sometimes those invitations come via email and sometimes by phone calls. It matters not to me which way I am initially contacted, although email follow-up will be requested so that I don’t have to tie a string around my finger.

But how people want to be communicated with is a personal preference. And when you are engaged in business development, it is something to take note of and even document.

I recently finished making a slew of appointments with aviation/aerospace/defense industry contacts in Southern California. I noticed that I was far more effective by using a combination of LinkedIn messages/phone calls than I was by email.

If someone has more than 500 LinkedIn contacts, that is a pretty good…

View original post 1,447 more words

Leave a Reply

