Dean Barber

Why Companies Should Outsource Site Selection

In Site Selection on December 29, 2014 at 10:28 am

Here’s a past blog that explains what and why I do what I do. I hope you all had a Merry Christmas and will have a Happy New Year. I’ll see you down the road in 2015.

Barberbiz

Peter Drucker is a historic figure, a business consultant whose writings contributed to the philosophical and practical foundations of today’s modern corporation.

And yet he pleaded that it was his lack of knowledge that served him well in helping companies find their way. This quote from him has always stuck with me.

“My greatest strength as a consultant is to be ignorant and ask a few questions.”

Now I can truly identify with that statement. The only difference is that I’m not shy about asking a lot of questions, having been a former newspaper reporter.

It is Drucker’s views on the need for companies to outsource certain business functions that serves as the basis for Barber Business Advisors. He is why I do what I do.

While advising General Electric in the 1980s, Drucker had a huge influential effect on CEO Jack Welch. Drucker’s advice was simple and to the point:

View original post 1,115 more words

Leave a Reply

